Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument (Far West)   54 comments


©2013 Cris Coleman All Rights Reserved

©2013 Cris Coleman All Rights Reserved

This monument is located about 6.8 miles southeast of Cameron, Missouri, as the crow flies. It is located in an area once known as Far West and still goes by that name, although there is no longer a town or anything resembling a town.

Far West was once a Mormon community of approximately 4,000 people, according to Wikipedia. It originally covered one square mile, but the plat was extended to include four square miles. It is now all farmland.

Caldwell County, wherein the monument is located, was created specifically for the Mormons to inhabit after they were chased out of Independence County, Missouri, by armed mobs.

The monument rests on the east side of what was intended to be a Mormon temple, but due to unrest in the area against the Mormons, their plans and city had to be abandoned. The original four cornerstones of the proposed temple are still present in the fenced-off area, although they have deteriorated due to weathering. The area is accessible to the public and is maintained by the Mormon Church.

Wiki reported the Mormon Church in May 2012 purchased 6,000 acres of farmland and three historical sights from the Community of Christ, formerly the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Comments are welcome.

Link back to Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument

You’re welcome to come visit my Barns! Barns! Barns! photostream in flickr where you can upload your own photos of old barns, farm houses and other related items.

54 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument (Far West)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great pic!

  2. Wow – had no idea. The fun thing about this week’s challenge is finding the many monuments that commemorate events we’ve never heard of! Well done :-)

  3. Wonderful entry for the challenge! And such great information about the Mormon history – thank you! I love learning about other religions I’m not so knowledgeable about : )

    • Thank you. It’s always nice seeing your smiling avatar. :) I do appreciate your visiting and commenting.

      I too learn so much because of these challenges. I think most of the people I wind up visiting are from countries not mine. I learn stuff, including history, that I never learned in school here.

  4. I love that the town was called the Far West especially since I now live the most western state. I love how you framed the monument and that you shared a little known piece of history. Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving your nice comment too.

    • Yes, I find it interesting they would call it Far West also. I suppose in those days it was quite far west from where they started, which was somewhere back east.

      I thank you for your comments as well. It’s nice meeting you. :)

  5. I hadn’t heard of this. Sad to see in a country built by those who fled persecution and were in search of religious freedom. Glad there is a reminder of what can happen if we’re not vigilant.

    • Yes, it seems that…well, when Jesus brought his different message from what the then current religious leaders were teaching, look what happened to him? It seems this is always sadly the case when anyone brings anything, religious or otherwise, new to the table—persecution, if that doesn’t work, ridicule, and if that still doesn’t work, often the inside-the-box thinkers sadly resort to murder. Is it any different today among the power elite? I wonder…..

  6. Nice choice…

  7. Thank you for the information! Great choice!

  8. Here you go! Reflections! It was my first one and I don’t think I added the correct link to the challenge but oh well. I’m learning! http://christabellimages.wordpress.com/2014/03/21/weekly-photo-challenge-relfections/

  9. Nice photo and monument. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  10. Nice photo. I have a dear friend that is Mormon. Though I don’t follow their belief system I think all should be allowed to worship in their own way. The history of the Mormon church being chased from different parts of the country is sad. Thank you for sharing this monument.

    • Religion has been a two-edged sword. Either they’ve been persecuted or have grown so big as to become the persecutor. Thanks for dropping by and commenting. :)

  11. It’s interesting to see some of the lesser known monuments around the country. I always try to stop and read the inscriptions on even the smallest memorial statue. There’s so much to learn about.

    • And then there’s the granddaddy of all monuments, from which, I understand, the word came from—the monuments at all the world’s cemeteries. There’s some pretty interesting monuments at cemeteries, that’s for sure. I’m thinking of putting a second Monument post for just that idea.

  12. “chased out by an armed mob”…..what a description! In a way, this is a monument to fear: the residents of Independence County felt threatened by the Mormons, and the Mormons most certainly were running for their lives as well as religious freedom! Great choice for this week’s challenge!
    ps. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment on my blog, too!

    • Apparently, the Mormons were anti-slavery and the people in Missouri were not. They were afraid the Mormons, who tended to vote as a bloc, were afraid they would carry the day at the polls and win all the elections. I haven’t looked it up for accuracy, but I believe that was the case. The Missouri governor, who was from Independence County, put out an extermination order on the Mormons which wasn’t lifted until sometime in the late 1900s.

  13. Great monument and it can be reminder for us.

  14. Cris, First of all thanks for taking the time to comment on my blog. Beautiful monument. We do have Mormons here in the UK and they are probably the most tolerated of all the religious communities.

    • Thanks for popping on over. “most tolerated” is an interesting phrase. Doesn’t UK tolerate religions well? USA obviously didn’t tolerate the Mormons well back in the 1800s, it would seem, judging by this story.

  15. Very nice photo, Chris, and appreciate the background story.

  16. great monument :)

  17. Interesting! I do not know much about them, but we have them in Sweden as well.

    • Your comment made me curious. I decided to look up to see if I could find how many countries Mormons are in. According to their newsroom, there are 15,082,028 Mormons in the world. I assume that’s as of April 2014 as that is when they have their worldwide conference in 155 countries, as near as I can tell. Amazingly, they’re published in 189 languages.

  18. Yours is great! I have never been to Missouri, but I love the information! There is so much I need to see yet in this lifetime. Beautiful photo!

    • Thank you for your enthusiasm. I’ve only been in Missouri since, I think, 2007, and I have yet to see much of it myself. I’m hoping this will be the year I get out and see more of it, as there is so much to see.

Leave a reply or you know what's good for you. Bwah-ha-ha-ha!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 300 other followers

