Weekly Photo Challenge: On Top (Flowers)   41 comments


This is the home of my dear friends in rural Iowa. In their 90s, and not getting around like they used to, yet they’re always bright with sunny dispositions. In keeping with this, they welcome their mailman with bright and sunny flowers (mailbox off screen to the left).

Comments are welcome.

Link back to Weekly Photo Challenge: On Top

You’re welcome to come visit my Barns! Barns! Barns! photostream in flickr where you can upload your own photos of old barns, farm houses and other related items.

©2013 Cris Coleman All Rights Reserved

©2013 Cris Coleman All Rights Reserved

Posted April 18, 2014 by Cris in Americana, Cris Coleman, Photography, Photos, Pictures

Tagged with , , , , ,

41 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: On Top (Flowers)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. that is very nice :)

  2. what a sweet gesture

  3. Lovely, makes me want to walk over for a visit!

  4. I always love reading a bit of a backstory behind a photo :) Love the flower contrast!

    • That’s one thing I try and do to give people a little perspective to what might otherwise be just a nice photograph. Sometimes the backdrop adds value to the photograph as well. Thanks for your thoughts and visit. :)

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: ON TOP | The Adventures of Iñigo Boy

  6. What a great sentiment! Lovely pic!

    • Thanks. They’re great people. They always welcome me with open arms the few chances I get to get up there and visit. Have a great day! :) And thanks for your comments.

  7. Looks great. Love the contrast in colors!

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – On Top | ☽ scar ☾

  9. Beautiful, Cris! I love the lines in this shot. Great image!!! xx Amy

    • Thank you. I appreciate that. I actually used my straighten feature in my PS Elements program for the first time. It took me a bit to figure out how to use it, but I think I got it okay. What do you think? :)

      • I think you got it, Cris!!! I have a few books I could recommend to you if you are interested on how to use PS Elements. Now I have version 6. But, I think the one book I am now using, the author has other books for the other versions. I still have yet to use the straightening tool. I think you did a great job. These editing programs are not easy to understand, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes easy. Let me know about the books. OK?? Love, Amy

        • I’ve subscribed to an Elements magazine and am in the process of downloading all their back issues, so I probably won’t be needing anything else to read on the subject, but anytime you have an idea that you’d like to pass on that works for you, I’d be happy to receive it, as it’s going to take me a long time to get through all these magazines, plus all their extras that come with them. That’s not even including all the links each issue comes with. :)

  10. Precious. A lot of story in that shot. Give them a hug from me next time you see them, please. Tell them the flowers made a happy day for me, too! I really enjoy your posts and stories, Cris’l.

    Hippity Hoppity

    Chocolate Easter Kisses

      CaroLine Kirkpatrick M.C.Ht

    CaroLine Kirkpatrick M.C.Ht
  11. Great colour contrast. Nicely done!

  12. Thanks for dropping in, and I just love this bright and cheerful welcome. Great choice for the challenge.

  13. now this is just wonderful! the flowers are subtle – yet powerful in this shot. LOVE IT! :) and great for on top.

  14. Well done Cris! Good one.

  15. Thanks for leaving the url. Sometimes, it’s hard to get to everyone. The url makes it easier.
    Cute way to showcase – on top. XD

    • You’re welcome. That’s exactly the reason I do leave my URL, to make it easier for others to check things out, if they so desire. I do like they way they’ve done the new pingbacks on the Challenge page. Have you seen it?

Leave a reply or you know what's good for you. Bwah-ha-ha-ha!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 300 other followers

