Weekly Photo Challenge: Peaceful afternoon on the farm   31 comments


Β©2011Cris Coleman

Creative Commons License
Late afternoon on the farm by Cris Coleman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License

One of the first things I learned about photography while studying through NYIP was: The best time to take outdoor photographs is just before sunset or shortly thereafter or just after sunrise or shortly before.

This is one such shot. It was a peaceful, easy feeling on the farm that particular late afternoon. I took many photographs with this lighting that evening, some really cool shots.

Unfortunately, this is the only shot that survived a nasty virus that wound up taking everything I had on my computer.

Posted January 13, 2012 by Cris in Cris Coleman, Fantasy, Mystery, Photography, Photos, Pictures

Tagged with , , ,

31 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Peaceful afternoon on the farm

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is gorgeous and peaceful… Love the bales of hay. πŸ˜‰

  2. A wide stretch of golden , breathtaking peace….

    • Yes, it’s so beautiful during that time of day, that time of year, with freshly bundled (is that the right word?) hay. I’ll bet you’re a poet, too. πŸ™‚

  3. this is beautiful!!! sorry to hear about the nasty virus!

  4. Peaceful, definitely πŸ™‚ Thanks for the share!

  5. Beautiful – the best time of the day

  6. Beautiful and peaceful.

  7. i agree with you about capturing images during that ‘golden hour’ – everything looks so delightfully surreal during that time.
    am glad this image survived. thank you for sharing.

  8. Nice peaceful photo. I always put my pictures on a flashdrive so I don’t lose them. Once my computer crashed and I lost my pictures.

    • Thanks for the advice (and compliment). Actually, the first thing I did after the crash and destructive recovery was go out and buy a flash drive. Now EVERYTHING gets backed up. I had to go out and buy another flash drive. πŸ™‚

  9. Beautiful photo and sorry to hear you lost things from your pc

  10. Sure looks peaceful. Nice interpretation.

  11. Nice capture!

  12. very nice

  13. I agree with you about the lighting. There are some wonderful times of the day. I’m more of an evening person – cos I don’t like getting up early!!! This time of year is good because the sunrise/sunset times are very favourable.
    I love your photograph. The autumn colours are wonderful in the light.
    Thanks for sharing.

    • Thank you, Kate, for your kind words. My photographic tendencies seem to drop off somewhat. My camera and tripod much prefer the warmth of the indoors to traipsing around in the cold outdoors. Autumn colors are truly wonderful, which makes me wonder why I wasn’t out photographing them this year, as they were the best I’ve seen in years.

  14. Great entry.

  15. Excellent pic. Looks like the best of autumn. http://wp.me/pdJ7S-uC

    • Thank you, Brandon. It was a great afternoon/evening. I look back at that time with fondness, given the extreme cold that’s going on here now. πŸ™‚

  16. I like the mood of your image. Good photo!

Leave a reply or you know what's good for you. Bwah-ha-ha-ha!

