Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond (Peek-a-Boo)   36 comments


Every once in awhile I like to take photographs of spacial things, if that’s the right word—things with lines, angles, that sort of thing.

I pass by this fence every day at least once. It’s always been intriguing to me. One day I brought my camera with me to see what I could do.

What I wound up with seems to fit this week’s photo challenge, so here it is. I hope you like it.

©2011 Cris Coleman All Rights Reserved

©2011 Cris Coleman All Rights Reserved

Creative Commons License
Peek-a-boo by Cris Coleman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Posted January 19, 2013 by Cris in Cris Coleman, Fantasy, Missouri, Mystery, Photography, Photos, Pictures

Tagged with , , , ,

36 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond (Peek-a-Boo)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I could not find any contact form on your Blog, so I am writing here.
    My name is Alexey Markovich and I live in Belgorod, Russia.
    I found your blog via “fence” tag on WordPress.
    I’ve just started a non-commercial project dedicated to fences from all over the world.
    If you want to participate, please send your fence pictures. Here is a brief description:
    http://bzebza.net/send-your-fence-photos/

  2. Nice composition, I bet it would make a nice black and white too.

    • Thanks. I appreciate your stopping by.

      You’re probably right. And with a little touch of the keyboard, black and white can easily be accomplished. I love film but I’m afraid it’s pretty much gone by the way of the tin type. 😦

      • Flim? Never used it 🙂 If you like black and white I highly recommend Nik’s Silver Efex Pro 2. My one and only source for B&W conversions. I don’t want to sound like a advertisement on your blog, but if you’re interested I can tell you how to save a little on Nik plugins.

        • I don’t use black and white all that often, but I’m certainly willing for you to plug something that might benefit others as well as myself. I certainly prefer that to some ads I’ve seen pop up on my site on occasion as complete surprises.

          What are Nik plugins to? I don’t have photoshop, although I do have Lightroom 3.

          In any event, go ahead and save me. 🙂

          • Join the club, Lightroom 3 is the first stop fo all my photographs. But the Nik plugins are where the magic happens. They enable me to do things with my images that I have absolutely no desire to learn how to do in Photoshop, which I do not own anyway.

            If you’d like, you can click this link, http://www.niksoftware.com/index/usa/entry.php?disc_id=JSINON and download a free 15 day trial of all of their plugins. Once you fall in love with how easy they make it to get the most out of your images, and you will fall in love with them, you can use the code JSINON to save 15% on them. The best deal is to buy the entire suite, it is the best $299 I’ve ever spent on software.

          • Thank you. I’ll check it out. I’m still a newbie on Lightroom 3, so I haven’t figured much of it out yet.

          • Does Color Efex Pro 4 Complete Edition do for color what HDR Efex Pro 2 does for black and white? I’m guessing it probably does, based on the name alone. I’ve checked out HDR Efex Pro 2 and it looks pretty awesome. Since you bought the entire suite (the price looks awesome!), do you use the Color Efex Pro 4 Complete Edition much?

          • Every one of my images has been through Color Efex. Even the black and white. My workflow, in pretty much this order, consists of importing into LR3, applying Lens Correction, setting blacks, then fixing any highlight issues with the Recovery slider. Aslo adjusting exposure if I need to. Applying noise reduction if needed, and capture sharpening, (with settings of 35, 0.7, 40, and using the mask slider as needed to only apply sharpening where I want.

            If the image has too much noise, I set the sharpening and noise reduction sliders to zero then I send the file off first to DFine for noise, then Sharpener Pro, RAW Capture Sharpening.

            Then, if I need to correct any colors, small areas of contrast, etc., it’s off to Viveza. If I don’t feel I need to use Viveza, into Color Efex I go. I’ve downloaded all the “recipes” from the Nik website, as well as created a few of my own.

            But long story short, yes, every single one of my images goes through Color Efex Pro 4.

          • Cool. I appreciate all the useful info. I’ll have to do some serious saving to get all the Nik stuff. I really like the $299 deal, presumably for the LS 3 only bunch because I noticed it said “starting” at $299,

          • To the best of my knowledge that’s the whole deal. They say “starting” because I think the Complete Collection for Photoshop is more $$, for LR it’s $299. I know 15% off isn’t much, but every little bit helps. I honestly didn’t become an affiliate for the small (10%) commission I get if someone uses that code. I did it because I think the software is so good.

          • Well, we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. Thanks. 🙂

          • Oh, I think you mean Silver Efex Pro 2 for B&W, though some of my best B&Ws are HDR images, created in HDR Efex Pro 2, then converted in Silver Efex Pro 2.

            One last thing, as good as LR3 is, it really has become not much more than a cataloging and minor touch up tool for me. Nik is where my images come to life.

          • Okay, cool. I haven’t figured out how to make the best use of LS 3 yet, although I have figured out a few things. Until I can save up for the Nik stuff, I’ll just have to keep plugging away at LS 3. I have to figure out a way for it to be more selective in importing so many photographs into an album, or whatever it is called. Currently it just automatically loads whatever folder I click into. I haven’t figured out hot to import only one photograph at a time. Lots is nice, if I’m doing a whole series of shots, but there are times when I’d like to import just one out of a series of photographs from one folder.

          • I’m not quite sure what you mean about importing just one out of a folder. I import mine right from the memory card, into a dated folder. I gave up trying to organize them into named folders a while ago. Now I just keyword the heck out of them and then import them into the dated folder. Unless it’s obvious crap, I import everything on the card, then I go through and weed out the less obvious crap 🙂 And I’m a brutal deleter too. Even though I always hear “storage is cheap,” and I just put a 1TB drive into my MacBook Pro, if I know I’ll never do anything with an image it’s off to the trash can.

          • What I meant was: Say I have a folder on my computer with 15 photos in it. I only want to edit one of the photos. I don’t need to have the contents of the entire folder loaded into LS 3, just the one, but it wants to bring them all in, anyway.

            I haven’t used LS 3 to download from my camera, as the camera has it’s own software to do that, and it created dated folders on my hard drive.

            I’m still quite a newby with LS 3, as you might notice. 🙂

          • You should be able to just select the one image, but I’m not sure of the exact way to do it as I always use a card reader, not directly from the camera, and use the “Import” function in the “Library” module in Lightroom. That way the photos are both in my LR catalog, and on my hard drive. Saves me the extra steps of downloading them from the card to the computer, then opening LR and importing them from there.

            What I “think” you ned to do is, after you click Import and them select the folder, you need to un-check the box under the thumbnails of all the photos you don’t want to import. I’m going on the assumption that importing images from your computer that aren’t already in your LR catalog is the same as importing from a card.

            When you import into Lightroom, the photos aren’t actually in Lightroom. They are still on your hard drive, the import process only tells Lightroom where to find them. If I go into my Pictures folder on my Mac, I’ll find the same exact folder structure that I see while in the Library module in LR. Dong it this way makes it very easy to find where my photos are on my computer.

            If you have any other questions, please feel free to ask. You may want to use the Contact form on my blog in order to keep this comment section from taking over your entire blog. Though some of your followers who are also not very familiar with LR might find our discussion useful. I have no problem either way. I’m glad I can help.

          • Thanks. I think the conversation is enlightening, so I’m good with conversing in here. Others may indeed gain something from this as well as I.

            You say you always use a card reader. Does that mean you take the memory card out of the camera and place it in a computer input slot? I’m a little confused about the term.

            Meanwhile, I’ll have to get more acquainted with the import function of LS 3, as well as the rest of it, for that matter.

            Thanks for all the time you’ve spent responding to my various confusions. I seem to get more that way the older I get. 🙂

          • That’s fine with me.

            As for the card reader, some newer computers have them built in, so all you need to do is take the card out of the camera, plug it in, and off you go. I have one that accepts several different types of cards, my camera uses CF cards, an it plugs into my laptop via USB. A card reader is much faster than downloading right from the camera too.

            I enjoy helping, so feel free to ask me any questions you might have. I was on the receiving end of a lot of help not all that long ago. Now that I’m in a position to be the one giving the help instead of the one asking, I’m surprised at how much I enjoy it. My door is always open 😀

          • Thanks, Jeff. It IS fun helping people.

            My old computer (pre-crash days) had four slots for removable cards. My new one (I just discovered) has one at the very bottom of the standing box. It has XD and Pro written on it, plus other scibblings.

            My camera isn’t fancy, it’s a Canon PowerShot SX110 and, to my dismay, I found after I bought LS 3, it doesn’t even shoot in RAW format. It has a lot of versatality in it; I haven’t even learned near everything it has to offer and I’ve had it some three years. It was all I could afford at the time, and even into the present. So, I go with what I have.

          • No RAW!?!? Well at least it’s a Canon 🙂 When/if you’re ever interested in “upgrading” to a dslr, I recommend buying used. I can’t remember the last time I bought a new lens or body. My first 40D and 100-400L are the only new gear I’ve ever bought. I can send you a link to the Canon forum where I’ve bought, and sold, a ton and never had a problem. All while saving a boat load of $$$

          • That would be great. I’m interested in the 60D and I don’t think they’ll be any used one of those for awhile. To me, Canon and Nikon are about on a par, but I like the selection of Canon lenses better than Nikon. I always thought Nikon was overpriced, although their lenses are supposed to be top-notch. Either way, the 60D is a bit out of my price range. I run a rural paper route and it’s not very profitable. Gas too expensive and car repairs astronomical.

          • Stop in here, http://photography-on-the.net/forum/, and scroll on down to the classified section. Don’t be too surprised to find several 60D’s. I’m always amazed at how soon new, just released gear starts to show up.

            You’re right about the whole Canon vs. Nikon thing. My advice, if you have friends that are into photography you may want to consider buying the same brand. That way you can both pick their brains for help, and borrow their lenses 🙂

          • Thanks, I’ll check that out. Wow! That’s a heavily used site. Just gave it a quick look-see.

            I’m pretty much a lone wolf, photography-wise. Being up all night, every night of the year, passing out newspapers, tends to limit my ability to make friends, especially at my age, when most senior citizens either are resting at home or are in rest homes. I’m 66. 🙂

            I will be checking out that site further and will definitely become a member.

          • I forgot to ask: What do you think of the 60D? I’ve only marginally looked into it and like what I’ve seen. Thanks.

          • It’s supposed to be a great camera. One thing I really like, and with all the odd angles I like to try wished my 7D had, is the articulated LCD. Why do the camera makers feel that isn’t a feature people would want on a “Pro/Semi-Pro” level body is beyond me. The one thing I don’t like is the smaller size. It just feels too small in my big “man hands” 🙂 I know the weight savings would be nice with all the hiking I’ll be doing this year, but I don’t see giving up my 7D anytime soon!

          • Thanks. How would you compare the 7D, which I’m not familiar with, with the 60D, which I’m barely familiar with? Sometimes, all these options get a little heady for me. 🙂

          • I haven’t directly compared the two. The biggest benefits of the 7D over the 60D for me are,
            1) Beefier feel of the larger size magnesium body. The size and weight just fit me better.
            2) Better auto focus system with 19 A/F points on the 7D vs only 9 on the 60D.
            3) Frame rate, 8 frames per second vs 5.3. Though not my primary interest in photography, due to lack of expensive long lenses, wildlife is one of the things that got me interested in photography. Both the higher frame rate, and the better A/F are huge to me.

            Most of the other differences are of little importance to me.

          • Okay, thanks. I appreciate that. These are good things to know, as I wile away my day dreaming once again of an SLR, this time a digital version. My film version got stolen, along with all my lenses and some other nifty things. One of the bad things about living underneath a druggie. 😦

          • I just had a “duh” moment. I said earlier I didn’t have a memory card. I just forgot where it was. It’s in with the batteries, not obvious by just looking at the outside, which is all I did. 🙂

  3. I DO like it! and it’s perfect for the challenge. The broken piece of fence makes it!

  4. Great capture…..but one thing for sure looking at that Cris cross fence I want to smack it down to get the path clear…(that must be called a Impact of the Pic)…

    • LOL Very good. I don’t think anyone has used that gateway in years.

      Since taking the photo, someone has put a small lavender plastic-looking sheet on it I see them all over the place around here. Don’t know what they’re for.

  5. I can imagine a child hiding behind that fence playing hide and seek 🙂

Leave a reply or you know what's good for you. Bwah-ha-ha-ha!

