A study in contrast II   9 comments


I was walking out in the field on my daughter’s property looking for something to photograph earlier this year. I came across this little bit of color in an otherwise somewhat dreary landscape. It had not yet turned Spring. I don’t know what this plant is called; I just call it Chinese Lanterns. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

©Cris Coleman All Rights Reserved

©Cris Coleman All Rights Reserved

Creative Commons License
Chinese Lanterns by Cris Coleman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Linked back to Cee’s Fun Photo Challenge: Alone

Posted June 6, 2013 by Cris in Cris Coleman, Fantasy, Missouri, Photography, Photos, Pictures

Tagged with , , ,

9 responses to “A study in contrast II

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge-Alone | WoollyMuses

  2. Gorgeous shot!

  3. If the “lanterns” don’t turn orange but just turn yellow/brown and then drop off, they are probably ground cherries. They should have a yellow berry inside each lantern (a bit larger than a pea), that’s quite tasty.

    • Interesting. I’ll have to keep my eye out for them next year. They’re small, so I’m guessing they’re probably of the ground cherry variety. I’ll have to look it up. Thanks.

  4. Chris, great photo. Slightly to the left of the chinese lantern you can see a masked human face peering out at you. Can you see it? Thanks for visiting mine. It was a difficult one for me to come up with a photo because if you’re alone you’re alone and I don’t tend to take photos of strangers.

    • I strained until my eyes about popped out and could not, for the life of me, see a masked human face to the left of the Chinese lantern, which I assumed you meant the far-left Chinese lantern.

      I got used to taking photos of strangers when I was asst. editor for a small newspaper for four years, but it’s altogether different when you’re taking pictures of strangers when you’re not working for the newspaper. So, I can identify with you on that. There a lot of Alone things in the world, so it shouldn’t be hard finding one.

      I just went back through some of my old photos and found a perfect Alone, which I will be posting in just a few minutes. Come and see. 🙂

  5. I call it “Okra Wannabees”. THANKS FOR SENDING. CJK TO CCC Sent from my Kyocera Milano on Sprint

    • Well, that’s ONE way of looking at it. Six of one, half dozen of the other. The advertisement that came along with your comment was larger than your comment. :o) Nice chatting the other night.

Leave a reply or you know what's good for you. Bwah-ha-ha-ha!

