Weekly Photo Challenge: Horizon (Defunct RR Bridge)   5 comments


Liking all things old, I was returning home from Iowa when I saw this old railroad bridge in northwest Missouri that is no longer being used. In fact, I believe the tracks have all been removed. Yet, it makes a nice foreground to the horizon, although I would have liked to have the sky it bit more blue.

An old railroad bridge in northwest Missouri no longer being used.

Creative Commons License
Defunct Railroad Bridge by Cris Coleman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Posted October 28, 2013 by Cris in Americana, Cris Coleman, Missouri, Photography, Photos, Pictures

Tagged with , , ,

5 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Horizon (Defunct RR Bridge)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m no one to teach photography. I just shared my experience how to catch some of the blue sky if it matters more than other factors.
    You get best blues with sun behind you, the closer you come to the sun – the sky will be more and more pale. So this is not “according to how light or dark the ground was”.
    The darker photos 170 and 177 show a person walking actually in the shadow of the mountain top behind the photographer; if there is enough light as in the first photo No 179 – all plans are good visible, the blue sky included.
    I repeat this discussion below my post, because of the references to photos.

    • Thank you for taking the time to discuss this issue. Normally, when I take a photo like this, I take several shots, which I did in this case. I do focus on different areas in each shot. Unfortunately, the sun was in the western sky on the particular shot we’re discussing. This one was just the best. I don’t recall whether or not I focused on the sky. Sometimes I do and sometimes I don’t. It just depends on what the main focal point of the photo is. In this case, obviously, it was the bridge, with a secondary focus of the water. That’s probably the best way I can describe how I arrived at this photo. Thanks again. Not everyone will take the time to do as you have done. 🙂

  2. If the sky was actually blue at that time (the reflex on the river below the bridge suggests it was), you should turn the camera more upwards to cover as much of the sky as possible (not to omit the topic on earth), the camera will adjust to the light conditions of the sky and its blue will get caught. See my horizon post with sky and clouds.

    • Thanks. If I’m taking a reading from the sky, won’t that turn the rest of the photo much darker? What would that do to the depth of field for the up-front stuff? Meanwhile, I’ll see if I can find the posts you mentioned. Thanks for taking the time to respond.

    • Okay. I’ve looked at your “Horizon” photos and here’s the comment I was going to leave on your site but decided to enter it here where I can see your comment.

      First of all, you speak very good English. You are to be congratulated.

      Regarding the lack of blue sky in my “Horizon” entry, some of your above photos looked wonderful, but some of them were rather darker than I would have personally liked, if I had shot them.

      Plus, none of them had any foreground objects, except the one with the man, who was pretty dark. So, the issue of depth of field didn’t really come into play.

      This is what I was talking about—that if you focused on the sky, the land would be darker. I noticed the sky varied in blue-ness according to how light or dark the ground was.

      Am I seeing this correctly? I hope I am seeing this correctly. I am not trying to be a critic. I’m just trying to understand.

      Thank you.

Leave a reply or you know what's good for you. Bwah-ha-ha-ha!

