Weekly Photo Challenge: Eclipse of the Moon (Silhouette)   14 comments


©2012 Cris Coleman All Rights Reserved

I was traveling at night and happened to have my camera with me. The moon was high to the west, the direction I was heading. I came upon this old windmill in the close proximity of the moon.

I came to a quick halt and parked to the side of the road out of harm’s way, not that there’s a lot of traffic out here in the boonies at 3:30 a.m. There isn’t.

I took my camera and my tripod, the latter I rarely bring along on my nightly journeys. I walked around and was able to line up the windmill with the moon.

I took several photos and got back in the car, as it was quite cold out. As it turned out, the only picture that turned out was the very last one I took and here it is.

I hope you enjoy it.

14 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Eclipse of the Moon (Silhouette)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Really great!

  2. Beautiful shot Cris… I dint know you had 2 blogs. 😉

  3. Whoa! Love it!

    • Thank you. I would have never gotten that shot if I had not come prepared. The vast majority of the time I do not have my camera with me, especially during the colder six months of the year where darkness reigns. Normally, there isn’t much to take a picture of during these times. 🙂

  4. This si quite chilling to look at. I can feel the cold! However, if it was a landmark near home, it could be quite comforting!

    • You know, during the daytime, it’s just another of the thousands of broken down windmills that are scattered throughout the Midwest. They are broken down because when electricity arrived out here, the electric companies forced the farmers to break their windmills and toss their motors on the ground in order for them to receive the electricity. No broken windmills, no electricity. 😦

  5. A very beautiful image

  6. Incredible! Absolutely perfect moment.

  7. lovely. breathtaking.

Leave a reply or you know what's good for you. Bwah-ha-ha-ha!