Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition (Crossed Wires)   69 comments


A juxtaposition is “the act of placing things side by side, especially for the purpose of comparison or contrast.”

I was on my way to Iowa while the sun was setting and I passed by this power plant and saw a potential there for a photograph. So I carefully backed up and pulled to a stop on the side of the highway, grabbed my camera and hustled to where I could get the shot I wanted.

There was a man standing in the approximate neighborhood but he didn’t seem to be bothered by my presence.

As the sun was disappearing rather fast, as sunsets do, I didn’t have time to grab a tripod. Whatever I came up with was going to have to be the result of a low-light hand-held camera.

I got off several shots but this is the only one that came out even close to what I was trying to achieve. A tripod would have made it a better shot, I think, but sometimes you just have to seize the moment. I hope you enjoy it.

Comments are welcome.

Link back to Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition

©2013 Cris Coleman All Rights Reserved

©2013 Cris Coleman All Rights Reserved

69 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition (Crossed Wires)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like this Cris, very good. MM 🍀

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: More Abandoned | Humbled Pie

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Humbly Abandoned | Humbled Pie

  4. Now, that is perfect timing. Great shot !!!!

  5. Pingback: Unexpected Pairings | Pairings :: Art + What Goes With It

  6. wow wow, two power stations…

    • You’re the third person who has pointed that out to me, for which I am grateful, for when I took the photo, and even after, that thought had not even entered my mind.

      I’ve wanted to take a photograph like this for ages and just by happenstance, I came across the opportunity while traveling.

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Caged |Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  8. Pingback: Day 14: Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | Dublin + 1 picture = 365 days!

  9. I always carry my little P+S for just these times. A tripod does help but have you thought of a bean bag, Cris. You can rest it on the car, set the camera on it and use the delayed timer to fire off the shutter. That way you don’t get movement and can usually produce a reasonable low light photograph.

    • I hadn’t thought of a beanbag, although it wouldn’t have done me any good in this particular circumstance because I was standing alone in the driveway to this power station, with nothing around taller than the grass that was growing.

      I had heard of using a beanbag before, but that thought hadn’t crossed my mind in some time, like, years. It’s hard to do, though, on the top of a car because of the interference of the roof or hood or trunk (bonnet and boot) of the car. But that’s a good idea to keep “on the burner”. Thanks.

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition 2 | Khana's Web

  11. You did a great job, Cris. A fascinating photo for the challenge. 🙂

  12. I’m always zooming along someplace with an uncooperative passenger in the front seat when I see shots like this whiz by and then I kick myself for not just stopping – I love this one.

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | Khana's Web

  14. really like the crossed wires photo – and the way you captured the sun in the lower section – very cool shot.

  15. My first reaction; this is what Robot hair looks like without detangler.
    Thanks Cris, for allowing me to view askew. Love & Hugs

    • Such a vivid imagination! Wow! Who else but CaroLine would have thought of that? Besides another robot, of course, the first being the one you described, not you.

      askew? No, you didn’t ask me, I asked yew. Thanks, as always, for your insightful interpretations. 🙂

  16. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition (Lamp) | What's (in) the picture?

  17. Two energy sources, yet so very different. A good juxtaposition shot, Cris!

  18. A very interesting and beautiful pic!

  19. The shot is indeed brilliant !

    Having worked as a Power Plant Commissioning engineer for a few years, i can truly appreciate the beauty of the sun setting behind a switchyard 🙂

    Maybe, you’d like this other painstakingly taken photo too

    http://inspireandrise.wordpress.com/2014/01/18/the-rare-dare/

    Cheers !

    • That was a way cool photo. You’ve got guts, that’s for sure. I enjoyed the dialog, too. That put some life into it as well. 🙂 Thanks for pointing me there.

      Thank you for pointing out that’s a switchyard. What’s the difference between a switchyard and a power plant? Thanks.

  20. It’s very terminator like

  21. Yes I saw this one earlier even though I didn’t comment then. The picture is amazing!

  22. Nice shot, well done with no tripod! As you say, sometimes we get lucky…. Thanks for commenting on my blog post for ‘juxtaposition’ challenge, much appreciated. I love old things, so am off for a wander around some of your barns….

  23. A well-seized opportunity, indeed!

    • Thank you. I got there just in time. That old sun disappeared so fast I was amazed. I think it has something to do with bending light rays or something. 🙂

  24. Very nice. This is an excellent contrast… did you made any photoshop adjustments on this photo? love it!

  25. Lovely light and color! Great idea for this challenge. 🙂

    • Thanks. It was a very lucky capture. Five minutes in either direction and 1) I would have missed it altogether or 2) I probably wouldn’t have noticed the potentiality. Sometimes you just get lucky. Appreciate your dropping by and commenting.

  26. a biped is way better than a tripod. awesome, Chris.

  27. Tripod be darned! You did great! Enjoyed it thoroughly, Cris.

    • Thank you Gamma. What a lucky bit of timing. I’ve seen similar photos but this is the first time I’ve had an opportunity to try and get off a good shot (with my camera-that’s for the NSA). 🙂

  28. Wow. What a cool photo. I think you did a great job without a tripod. Sometimes ya gotta practice being a human tripod. That is where yoga comes in handy. LOL

    • Thank you. I appreciate that. Really.

      I love taking photos of sunsets and sunrises (I have a couple on my f-stop fantasy website), but I’m hardly out during those hours, especially sunrises. But I’m going to have to put some spurs to my backside and see if I can turn over a new leaf this year, especially when it warms up. 🙂

      • It is frigid city here and I am just itching to go out on a good photo shoot. I’ve gotten some incredible sunrises through my window and one where the reflection of ice and steam were outlined by the streetlights. I have one post going up tomorrow where I took very closeups of ice crystals that had formed on my window. I haven’t edited them yet, as I have been running around like crazy trying to catch up on here, (OMG!) so tomorrow I am going to edit and post.

        This blog thing gets so out of control because there are SO many good blogs and SO much talent. I really would love to hit the follow button on yours, but I am up to my eyebrows already. (sigh) And yet, here I am writing to you. LOL Unbelievable! (((HUGS))) Amy

        • Don’t worry about the following thing. I will make up for it by following you. 🙂

          I appreciate your taking the time to converse, given the business of your day and life.

          When I log onto WordPress, the Blogs I Follow come up, so I just briefly look at them as I scroll down. If I like them, I give them a quick Like. If I really, really like then, I offer up a comment to go.

          Thanks again….and for the hugs! 🙂

          • Jeese, Chris, you almost made me cry. I am not joking. Thank you so much. I hope you enjoy my photos, get ideas to help you, and also hear the wisom that comes both from me and from others (Poets). I am deeply moved that you followed me. If you really knew how busy I am, you would understand how touched I am. Thank you. I will watch for your gravatar and follow you here just to keep in touch. Love, Amy

          • Well, keep putting out the good stuff, and “I’ll be around,” as The Spinners once sang. Thank you for your moving comment. Stay strong.

          • (((HUGS))) again. Notice my other comment. LOL Good night, Chris. You really do great work. Get motivated and do more. We will encourage each other. 🙂

            On Saturday, January 25, 2014, f-stop fantasy wrote:

            > Cris commented: “Well, keep putting out the good stuff, and “I’ll be > around,” as The Spinners once sang. Thank you for your moving comment. Stay > strong.”

          • Let’s try that again.
            Well, keep putting out the good stuff, and “I’ll be around,” as The Spinners once sang. Thank you for your moving comment. Stay strong.”

          • Hey, Chris, I couldn’t resist. OK? I pushed your follow button. I really am interested in your photography. I must warn you about my blog. I post mostly photos of roses. At least for now. They are gorgeous closeups but still roses. And cats too. Lots of interesting shots no one would think of to photograph and of course landscape or things that catch my eye. Just saying before you push my button. You may want to think twice. LOL

          • Too late. Already pushed. Most of my photographs involve outdoor items, some flowers, some old barns and farmhouses that have been allowed to become dilapidated, just whatever catches my eye. You might wish to check out my Halloween photo at
            https://fstopfantasy.wordpress.com/2013/10/27/happy-halloween-end-of-the-line/
            You might get a kick out of it. 🙂

            Meanwhile, come check out my Crossed Wires Juxtaposition:
            https://fstopfantasy.wordpress.com/2014/01/25/weekly-photo-challenge-juxtoposition-crossed-wires/ 🙂

          • Are you drinking or something? I was just at your Crossed Wire post. ROFLMAO! See what blogging does to us? We loose our minds! Now I will go check out your Halloween one because I KNOW I haven’t been there yet. Hehehehehehe

          • Nope. Don’t do that. I have enough problems without inviting in the devil’s spirits. 🙂

            I haven’t seen that expressed since I used to frequent quite regularly IRC, meaning ROFLMAO. LOL

Leave a reply or you know what's good for you. Bwah-ha-ha-ha!