Weekly Photo Challenge: Down (Meal Time)   38 comments


Meal Time

©2009 Cris Coleman

Creative Commons License
Meal Time by Cris Coleman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License

Mealtime on a farm is definitely “down” time.

Posted February 17, 2012 by Cris in Cris Coleman, Fantasy, Missouri, Photography, Photos, Pictures

Tagged with , , ,

38 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Down (Meal Time)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great shot. Perfect one.

  2. Love it…

  3. What a great click for down!
    Beautiful horses.

  4. They seem quite content showing down! 🙂

  5. Gorgeous horses!
    Excellent shot!

  6. I do like that interpretation!

  7. What a beautiful matched pair of horses. Are they by chance twins?

    • No, by chance, they are mother-daughter. Hard to tell, isn’t it? It is for me, too, except for the tail. The mother’s is much shorter.

      • It is amazing how closely they resemble each other in this photo.

        • I agree. Mostly I can tell the difference because the daughter’s tail is longer. 🙂

          • I would imagine their personalities differ a wee bit too?

          • They do and they don’t. They seem to take turns at being stubborn, but they both come up to me whenever I get nearby, ostensibly to see if I have a treat for them. The daughter will take the bit okay, but the mother won’t. Or is it the other way around. HaHa

          • You should try a hack-a-more. My horse used to throw his head constantly during our rides. I had his teeth floated, which didn’t help. Then I switched him over to a hack-a-more and it was smooth sailing from then on. The last 10 years I owned him, I never used a bit.

          • Thanks, I’ll look that up. I’m not what you call a “horseman”, so I’m not familiar with all the terms. They belong to my step-daughter and her husband.

  8. I would call them,”Golden Oreo’s” . I get as much pleasure looking at these little horsies as I do eating the cookies by the same name dipped in milk.

  9. They are almost mirror images. Great photo.

    Northern Narratives
  10. I like the symmetry in this picture. The angle of the camera following down their manes is really cool.

  11. Beautiful photo. So crisp.

  12. these guys are so pretty

    • Yes, these “gals” are and they can be quite stubborn, too. But they’ll certainly eat out of your hand if you offer them the right goodie. 🙂

  13. This is a pretty cool take on it! And quite goregous!

    nerdshirtsandcardigans
  14. Beautiful! And apt.

  15. Shared on my twitter, Cris! Thanks for stopping by my blogpost, as well! 😮

    3rdCultureChildren
    • Thanks and glad to do it. This challenge is a fun departure from my more serious blogs. And it is challenging to come up with something to match each week’s theme. And it’s fun to see what other people are coming up with, as well.

Leave a reply or you know what's good for you. Bwah-ha-ha-ha!